Ras Hendre Wallog          30th July 2009        Results

There was a strong local turnout last Thursday evening at the 9th running of Ras Hendre Wallog, a 3 mile trail race which formed part of the festivities of the Abergynolwyn Carnival Week.

A close battle developed within the race, with less than a minute seperating the first four finishers. However, a strong descent by Meirionnydd Running Club athlete, Ifan Richards of Ganllwyd, saw him capture eventual victory in a time of 17.06mins. Hot on his heels was Dewi Roberts of Blaenau Ffestiniog, the Bro Dysynni athlete eventually settling for a 3rd placed finish in a time of 17.43mins whilst the Meirionnydd duo of Mark Atherton (Llan Ffestiniog) & Adam Preston (Dolgellau) completed the top 5 in respective times of 17.58mins & 18.14mins. There then followed a Bro Dysynni family battle with son, Dylan, pipping father Tom Jones, the Aberdyfi based duo home in times of 18.18mins & 19.21mins.

The ladies race was dominated by Andrea Vaughan of Ganllwyd, completing a 'double victory' for Meirionnydd Running Club on the evening, her victorious time being 21.25mins. Gwennan Roberts of Rhoslefain was the 2nd female home, the Bro Dysynni athlete finishing in 27.23mins whilst the Meirionnydd trio of Tracey & Cara Evans of Brithdir and Janet Preston of Dolgellau came in together in 31.48mins to complete the top 5 in the female section of the event.

As ever with Ras Hendre Wallog, the race also attracted a high percentage of youngsters, with 12 year old Rhys Roberts of Llanegryn leading home the junior contingent in a time of 20.58mins with Aaron & Dion Roberts of Blaenau Ffestiniog also putting in strong efforts to finish in respective times of 21.10mins & 22.06mins. There were also excellent races from Huw Williams of Llanllwyda, home in 25.34mins & local boy Steffan Owen, the 10 year old from Abergynolwyn finishing in a time of 26.06mins.

It doesn't get any better than this

Brodysynni's Andy Unwin

1st Male Over-40 at Abergynolwyn 3 Mile Multi-Terrain Race, 3rd August, 2006....an historic occasion.

Abergynolwyn Results 2008
aka Ras Hendre Wallog

Abergynolwyn Results 2007

Abergynolwyn Results
previous years

Abergynolwyn Pictures