Whereas a largely local field gathered recently for the 8th running of the 'Trailworks' sponsored Penmaenpool 10 mile trail race, it was left to an athlete from Shropshire to take the plaudits with a relatively comfortable victory.


The athlete in question was Steven France (Shrewsbury A.C.), home in a time of 1hr 00.36mins, on a day where a strong outward bound head-wind made for slower than average times over the demanding course. In the female section of the race, it was left to Aberystwyth A.C. athlete, Phoebe Webster to continue her recent domination in this event, as she repeated her victories in 2006 & 2007 by claiming a 2009 victory in a time of 1hr 06.19mins.


There was an excellent representation of locally affiliated athletes in the final results table, these being led home by Meirionnydd Running Club debutant, Huw Brassington of Ganllwyd, 4th overall in a time of 1hr 02.11mins. His club-mate, Adam Preston of Dolgellau followed, in a time of 1hr 07..54mins, whilst the Bro Dysynni contingent were led home by Tom Jones of Aberdyfi in a time of 1hr 08.12mins. Two further Meirionnydd athletes followed, namely Pete Nicholls of Llanfachreth and Iori Jones of Dolgellau, in respective times of 1hr 13.44mins & 1hr 15.14mins, whereas Richard Griffiths of Tywyn just pipped his long time running rival Tony Hodgson of Llanelltyd, the Dysynni athlete home in 1hr 16.03mins, the Meirionnydd athlete in 1hr 16.06mins. Brithdir-based Kevin Evans was next in, with Meirionnydd club-mate Dave Raybone following in times of 1hr 16.31mins & 1hr 22.24mins, whilst John Tee was the third Bro Dysynni finisher, the Blaenau Ffestiniog based athlete home in 1hr 24.52mins.


Alison Price was the first locally affiliated female to finish as the Fairbourne based Meirionnydd Running Club member came home in 1hr 25.11mins with Barrie Jackson of Bala being the 4th of the 6 Bro Dysynni finishers to complete the course, in a time of 1hr 25.26mins.


A quintet of Meirionnydd Running Club females then followed, namely Jaspa Wynne Williams (Dolgellau) in 1hr 26.45mins, Margaret Roberts (Dolgellau) in 1hr 28.24mins, Janet Preston (Dolgellau) in 1hr 28.27mins, Sioned Jones (Brithdir) in 1hr 32.27mins and Jackie Fowler (Trawsfynydd) in 1hr 33.27mins.


To complete an excellent local turn-out, the Bro Dysynni, Aberdyfi-based duo of Rhian Jones and Alison Sayes completed the event in times of 1hr 33.43mins & 1hr 40.09mins.


As ever the race organisers were extremely grateful to the many who helped out on a rather inclement day as well as to the local land owners for their ongoing support in relation to the event.